Gotra Darda is a sub-gotra of the Bardia  gotra. Its Kuldevi is Shri Arbuda Devi of Mount Abu.


Darda Shri Jawaharlal – Yavatmal (Maharashtra)

            He was born on 2nd July 1923. He plunged into the freedom struggle and participated in the Satyagraha agitation in 1942 and joined ‘Quit India Movement, He was sentenced to jail for one year and 9 months. In Jabalpur Jail he organized Youth Conference on 10-08/1942. In 1944 he created Azad Hindu Sena at Yavatmal. He remain President of the Yavatmal City Congress between 1946-56.

            He founded a weekly ‘Nave-Jag’ in 1947, and ‘Lokmat’, Weekly from Yovatmal in 1960. ‘Lokmat’ became Bi-weekly and on 15-10-1971 ‘Lokmat’ became a Daily mewspaper. He was the Chif Editor. In 1981 Lokmat was launched from Aurangabad also. In 1989 he launched ‘Lokmat Samachar’ and ‘Lokmat Comics’ in hindi from Nagpur. In 1992 he launched ‘Lokmat Times’ Daily in English from Nagpur.

            Shri Darda was nominated a member of Legislative Council by the Governor of Maharashtra in 1972. In 1973 he represented the Government of India at Copenhagen (Denmark) at an International Conference on Housing.

            In 1978 he quit the membership of Maharashtra Legislative Counciland joined the agitation aloing with Mrs. Indira Gandhi. He was nominated to the Maharashtra Legislative Council in April, 1978 and joined Antuley Ministry as Industries Minister in 1980. In 1984 he became Irrigation Minister in the Vasant Dada Ministry and then Energy Minister in the Nilangekar Ministry in 1985. In 1988 he became Health Minister in the Sharad Pawar Ministry. In 1991 he became minister for Food and Supplies, Textile and Environment in the Minustry of Shri Sudhakar Naik. In 1993 he became Industries Minister in the Ministry of Sharad Pawar.

            He died on 25-11-1997.

            In short, he was a well-known Journalist and a Prominent Politician of his times. Oswal Community is proud of his ability.




Darda Vijay Jawaharlal – Nagpur

            He was born on 14-05-1950 at Yavatmal.

He was elected as Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) as an Independent Candidate in July 1989 and again re-elected M.P. Rajya Sabha from Congress ‘I’ ticket in July 2004. He remained member of many Committees, such as Information and Technology, Information and Broadcasting, Tourism and Culture etc.

The most prestigious ‘Feroze Gandhi Memorial Award’ was awarded to him in 1990-91 by the then P.M. Shri P.V. Narsimbharao. ‘The Best Produced Newspapar Award’ was given to him by the then President of India Hon. Shri Gyani Zailsingh for the ‘best Printing Technology’. In 1996 ‘Nemichand Shrishrimal Foundation Award’ was given for the excellence in the field of Journalism. ‘Government International Journalism award 1997’ was given to him for the best contribution in the field of Journalism in Maharashtra State. Maharashtra Kala Niketan, Mumbai awarded him the 7th Maharashtra Cine Natya Paritoshik 2003.’

            He published many books such as 1- ‘The Indian Emergency as seen by an Indian’ (English Verson), 2- Lokmat Congress Centenary Special-1985’, 3- Vatayan’, 4- ‘Raktanjali’, 5- ‘Sanskar Pushpa’, 65- ‘Tapsi’, 7- Nemisharan’, etc.

            He is the Managing Editor cum Chairman and Managing Director of ‘Lokmat Marathi’ Daily printing from Nagpur, Aurangabad and Akola and ‘Lokmat Times in English from Nagpur, and Aurangabad.

            He is Chairman and Director of

1 -        ‘Priyadarshini Co-operative Spinning and Ginning Textile Mills Ltd., Yavatmal

2 -        ‘Darda Investment and Properties Ltd.,

3 -        ‘Bombay well Print Inks Nagpur

4 -        ‘Prithvi Prakashan Pvt. Ltd. Aurangabad

5 -        ‘Hotel President Park, Aurangabad (Indias First Vegeteranian Five Star Hotal)

6 -        ‘Vidhya Prasarak Mandal, Yavatmal (Founder of Amolakchand College of Science, Commerce, Arts and Law for 4000 students)

7 -        ‘Hanuman Vyayamshala Krids Mandal Yavatmal (Sports College for 700 students)

8 -        Jawaharlal Education Trust (Founder of Jawaharlal Darda Institute of Engineering & Technology at Yavatmal) for 1000 students and founder of ‘Matoshree Veenadevi Darda English Medium School at Yavatmal for 800 students.

9 -        All India Kabbaddi Gold Trophy tournament at Yavatmal.

10 -      Sakal Jain Foundation etc.

Darda Rajendra Jawaharlal – Aurangabad

            He was born on 21/11/1952. He is a Journalist. He worked as the Chief Editor of Marathi Daily ‘Lokamat’ having the largest circulation of Maharashtra. He was also Chief Editor the ‘Lokmat Times’ the largest circulated English Daily into Central India.

            He has the foresight to bring the most advanced technology in newspapers. Under his leadership the Lokmat Group of news Papers discharged an important social responsibility by raising ‘Kargal Relief Fund’ for the families of the Jawans, who lost their lives in the battlefield. He constructed hostels for the children for the ‘Sahid-Jawans’at Aurangabad, Nagpur and Sholapur.

            In the earthquake of Bihar (1988) and Maharashtra (1993) his contribution in the aid of the affected was substantial. He gave a helping hand to the kith and kin of the people who died in the earth quake. In the year 1984. He raised and collected relief funds for the flood affected people of Nanded and Parabhani and constructed 13 School building.

            He had the honour of accompanying the them P.M. Late Shri Rajeev Gandhi twice in his tours abroad. He first joined in the tour of Australia, Newzealand, Thailand, Indonesia and later in Yugoslavia as a journalist. As Editor of Lokmat he accompanied P.M. Atal Bihari Vagpayee in his tour of Trinidad, Tobago, Jamaika and Morocco. As a journalist he was invited by the USA to witness Presidential Election and report the keen fight between Dukasis & Sir. Geeorge Bush in 1988.

            In the year 1999 he won the Aurangabad (West) seat of the Maharastra State Legislative Assembly. He was inducted into tate Cabinet as Minister of States for Energy and Tourism from March 2001 then he was the Minister of State for Home (Urban).

            He was re-elected MLA in Oct. 2004 from Aurangabad (West) constituency. 

Add / Edit to this page